Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism
1999 Fain Social Action Awards

Irving J. Fain Social Action Awards

The Irving J. Fain Award for Social Action was established in 1983 to recognize congregations that had undertaken significant programs of community service during the previous two years. The criteria for being-selected have evolved since that time, reflecting the tremendous number of creative social action programs throughout the Reform Movement that demonstrate the Movement's commitment to making the world a better place for all to live.

1999 Recipients

Temple Beth El, Boca Raton, Florida
for Shared Care
Temple Emanu-El, Atlanta, Georgia
for Disaster Response
Congregation Beth Israel, Austin, Texas
for their Overall Social Action Program
Temple Beth-El of Great Neck, Great Neck, New York
for Mitzvah Day Carnival
Temple Sinai, Rochester, New York
for Jury Diversity
Temple Israel, West Bloomfield, Michigan
for Kever Avot
Temple Emanu-El, San Diego, California
for their Overall Program
Temple Sinai, Oakland, California
for The People of the Book Literacy Project
Temple Beth Israel, Fresno, California
for The Interfaith Alliance of Central California
Congregation B'nai Israel, Bridgeport, Connecticut
for Beit Tikvah
Port Jewish Center, Port Washington, New York
for South Bronx-Port Washington Community Partnership
Holy Blossom Temple, Toronto, Ontario
for Out of the Cold
Central Reform Congregation, St. Louis, Missouri
for Racism and Economic Justice

1999 Honorable Mention Awards

Temple Sha'arey Shalom, Springfield, NJ
for Diverse Social Action Programming
Temple Israel, Omaha, Nebraska
for Are We All Created in God's Image?: Gay/Lesbian Issues and Challenges in our Jewish Community
Temple Beth Am, Seattle, Washington
for Time for Tikkun Pledge Drive
Temple Emek Shalom, Ashland, Oregon
for Overall Social Action Programs
Temple Beth Israel, Scottsdale, Arizona
for Adopt-a-Caseworker/Young Adult
Temple Hesed, Scranton, Pennsylvania
for Organ Donor Shabbat
Temple Emanu-El, Birmingham, Alabama
for Tikkun Olam Religious School Project

See the 1997 Irving J. Fain Award winners.
See the 2001 Irving J. Fain Award winners.

All Content © Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism